Thomas A. Morris Engineering Leadership Award

This award recognizes a Professional Engineer who has been a successful engineering leader and been a positive role model for other engineers during one’s career. The award is awarded in honor of a famous Indiana engineer known for planning and constructing the Indiana Statehouse. As a graduate of West Point, he served as a Brigadier General in the Union Army. During the Civil War, he also served as the overall Union commander in the Battle of Philippi, the first organized land action of the war. After the war, he oversaw the construction of the Union Railway and Union Depot in Indianapolis. And as Indiana's Resident Engineer, he supervised the construction of the Central Canal, along with the Madison and Indianapolis Railroad.

Qualifications: Any licensed Professional Engineer (PE) in the State of Indiana. Does not need to be a member of ISPE or NSPE. Current officers of ISPE are not eligible for nomination.

Selection of the recipient based on the following criteria:

  • Exhibits the highest level of integrity and ethics in all conduct
  • Understands how to apply engineering to address key issues facing society
  • Innovates solutions through demonstration of breadth and depth of engineering knowledge
  • Communicates effectively orally and in writing
  • Leads other engineers successfully
  • Possess a passion and intellectual drive for life-long learning

Download the nomination form here.

Thomas A. Morris Engineering Leadership Award Winners

2020 - Amy Barrett, PE, F.NSPE
2019 - Robert Bowen, P.E.
2019 - Keith Hood, P.E.
2015 - Michael Shirley, P.E., F.NSPE
2014 - Stuart G. Walesh, Ph.D., P.E.
2013 - Vincent P. Drnevich, P.E., Ph.D., F.NSPE